Beginning - Springboard, Mat & Props: CHARITY CLASS 12/5, 12/12 & 12/19


This class is taught by:

Amy Lamendella

Certified Instructor.  

 
Amy grew up in the Santa Cruz Mountains and has always been an athletic person. She came across Pilates in 2006 while living in San Francisco, and instantly fell in love with the equipment. She was impressed with a workout system that could at the same time be subtle, challenging, powerful and so fun!

Amy is a "systems" person and her favorite aspect of Pilates is bringing the principles and movements out of the studio and into every day life. Whether sitting at a desk, driving or working in the garden, Amy incorporates Pilates to help her stay balanced, healthy and strong.

Amy completed the Balanced Body Instructor Training Program at Agile Monkey in 2012 and became certified in 2015. She is excited to continue to deepen her understanding and share her passion for functional movement as a Certified Pilates Instructor at Agile Monkey, and to help people change their bodies and their lives in a positive way.

ALL PROCEEDS FROM THIS CLASS IN DECEMBER WILL GO TO FIRE RELIEF CHARITIES! WORKOUT & GIVE BACK!

This class includes fundamental Pilates exercises on the Springboard, Mat and using props. Great for beginners or experienced practitioners. Pilates Mat is the foundation for the entire methodology, which aims to create a balance of strength and flexibility in the body. The foundation of the Pilates Mat repertoire builds from fundamental exercises that help you to learn the underlying concepts and movement principles. You will learn things like how to do a proper upper abdominal curl without straining your neck, and how to stabilize your pelvis so that you can protect your back while working out.

Props are often incorporated into classes to add fun, release work, balance challenges or refinement of movement patterns. Props may include rollers, balls, therabands, ultra fit circles and more.

The wall mounted springboards are a great way to get a total body workout utilizing springs based resistance (which can make exercises more achievable and also more challenging, depending on the circumstance and level of the class).

Beginning - no experience required. Pilates Principles and beginning level exercises will be the focus. A great place to start for all students new to Pilates, and it will still be a workout!


Upcoming classes:

  • Wed Dec 19 6:30 pm - 7:25 pm with Amy Lamendella
  • Wed Jan 02 6:30 pm - 7:25 pm with Amy Lamendella
  • Wed Jan 09 6:30 pm - 7:25 pm with Amy Lamendella
  • Wed Jan 16 6:30 pm - 7:25 pm with Amy Lamendella
  • Wed Jan 23 6:30 pm - 7:25 pm with Amy Lamendella
  • Wed Jan 30 6:30 pm - 7:25 pm with Amy Lamendella
  • Wed Feb 06 6:30 pm - 7:25 pm with Amy Lamendella
  • Wed Feb 13 6:30 pm - 7:25 pm with Amy Lamendella
  • Wed Feb 20 6:30 pm - 7:25 pm with Amy Lamendella
  • Wed Feb 27 6:30 pm - 7:25 pm with Amy Lamendella
  • Wed Mar 06 6:30 pm - 7:25 pm with Amy Lamendella
  • Wed Mar 13 6:30 pm - 7:25 pm with Amy Lamendella
  • Wed Mar 20 6:30 pm - 7:25 pm with Amy Lamendella
  • Wed Mar 27 6:30 pm - 7:25 pm with Amy Lamendella
  • Wed Apr 03 6:30 pm - 7:25 pm with Amy Lamendella
  • Wed Apr 10 6:30 pm - 7:25 pm with Amy Lamendella
  • Wed Apr 17 6:30 pm - 7:25 pm with Amy Lamendella