Intermediate - Pilates on the Ball / Mat


This class is taught by:

Dixie Mills

Senior Certified Pilates Instructor.  

Dixie Mills has been teaching Pilates for more than twenty years. In 1993 Dixie became certified through the Pilates Center of Boulder, while pursuing an MFA in Dance Performance & Choreography from the University of Colorado. After graduating from both CU and The Pilates Center, Dixie got a chance to teach some of the healthiest and most athletic people in the country. The following year she moved to Seattle where she got a chance to stretch her rehab skills teaching at a studio near Microsoft. Dixie also worked with many teenagers in the Seattle area on building strength and coordination to support their sports or dancing pursuits (how wonderful to have the alignment, strength, flexibility, and connectedness that Pilates brings when you are young—please consider sessions for your teenager or college student!).

After 5 years of teaching clients, Dixie relocated to New York City, where she developed several continuing education workshops for Pilates teachers. She has since taught in Connecticut, New Jersey, Long Island, Philadelphia, Seattle, Virginia and Hawaii. Known as a teacher’s teacher, Dixie has great eyes for seeing the body’s quirks, and great hands and words for explaining how to reach your best potential.

Deepen your Pilates practice, and increase the fun with use of a large ball. Balance, proprioception, coordination and core strength will all be challenged.

Pilates is a method of exercise that aims to create a balance of strength and flexibility in the body. It challenges your mind and strengthens you from the inside out, enabling you to perform complex movements safely, with power and grace. The foundation of the Pilates Mat repertoire builds from simple exercises that help you to learn the underlying concepts and movement principles. You will learn things like how to do a proper upper abdominal curl without straining your neck, and how to stabilize your pelvis so that you can protect your back while working out. As the client progresses, the exercises become more complex, challenging them to use their accumulated knowledge to advance safely through the levels.

Intermediate - Pilates experience required. Intermediate level exercises will be the focus (with any necessary modifications).

Upcoming classes:

  • Thu Aug 24 9:30 am - 10:25 am with Dixie Mills
  • Thu Aug 31 9:30 am - 10:25 am with Dixie Mills
  • Thu Sep 07 9:30 am - 10:25 am with Dixie Mills
  • Thu Sep 14 9:30 am - 10:25 am with Dixie Mills
  • Thu Sep 21 9:30 am - 10:25 am with Dixie Mills
  • Thu Sep 28 9:30 am - 10:25 am with Dixie Mills
  • Thu Oct 05 9:30 am - 10:25 am with Dixie Mills
  • Thu Oct 12 9:30 am - 10:25 am with Dixie Mills
  • Thu Oct 19 9:30 am - 10:25 am with Dixie Mills
  • Thu Oct 26 9:30 am - 10:25 am with Dixie Mills
  • Thu Nov 02 9:30 am - 10:25 am with Dixie Mills
  • Thu Nov 09 9:30 am - 10:25 am with Dixie Mills
  • Thu Nov 16 9:30 am - 10:25 am with Dixie Mills
  • Thu Nov 23 9:30 am - 10:25 am with Dixie Mills
  • Thu Nov 30 9:30 am - 10:25 am with Dixie Mills
  • Thu Dec 07 9:30 am - 10:25 am with Dixie Mills
  • Thu Dec 14 9:30 am - 10:25 am with Dixie Mills
  • Thu Dec 21 9:30 am - 10:25 am with Dixie Mills