Intermediate/Advanced - Springboard, Mat & Props


This class is taught by:

Dixie Mills

Senior Certified Pilates Instructor.  

Dixie Mills has been teaching Pilates for more than twenty years. In 1993 Dixie became certified through the Pilates Center of Boulder, while pursuing an MFA in Dance Performance & Choreography from the University of Colorado. After graduating from both CU and The Pilates Center, Dixie got a chance to teach some of the healthiest and most athletic people in the country. The following year she moved to Seattle where she got a chance to stretch her rehab skills teaching at a studio near Microsoft. Dixie also worked with many teenagers in the Seattle area on building strength and coordination to support their sports or dancing pursuits (how wonderful to have the alignment, strength, flexibility, and connectedness that Pilates brings when you are young—please consider sessions for your teenager or college student!).

After 5 years of teaching clients, Dixie relocated to New York City, where she developed several continuing education workshops for Pilates teachers. She has since taught in Connecticut, New Jersey, Long Island, Philadelphia, Seattle, Virginia and Hawaii. Known as a teacher’s teacher, Dixie has great eyes for seeing the body’s quirks, and great hands and words for explaining how to reach your best potential.

The wall mounted springboards are a great way to get a total body workout utilizing springs based resistance (which can make exercises more achievable and also more challenging, depending on the circumstance and level of the class). The springboard repertoire was originally modified from the original Cadillac exercises, but has been expanded to include familiar favorites from the Mat and Reformer, as well as a lot of exercises you can’t do anywhere else. Most Springboard classes also include some Mat and & Props repertoire for flow.

Intermediate/Advanced - Pilates experience required. Int/Adv level exercises will be the focus and the pace will be faster, assuming skilled participants without injury or serious physical limitations.


Upcoming classes:

  • Thu Apr 27 6:30 pm - 7:25 pm with Dixie Mills
  • Thu May 04 6:30 pm - 7:25 pm with Dixie Mills
  • Thu May 11 6:30 pm - 7:25 pm with Dixie Mills
  • Thu May 18 6:30 pm - 7:25 pm with Dixie Mills
  • Thu May 25 6:30 pm - 7:25 pm with Dixie Mills
  • Thu Jun 01 6:30 pm - 7:25 pm with Dixie Mills
  • Thu Jun 08 6:30 pm - 7:25 pm with Dixie Mills
  • Thu Jun 15 6:30 pm - 7:25 pm with Dixie Mills
  • Thu Jun 22 6:30 pm - 7:25 pm with Dixie Mills
  • Thu Jun 29 6:30 pm - 7:25 pm with Dixie Mills
  • Thu Jul 06 6:30 pm - 7:25 pm with Dixie Mills
  • Thu Jul 13 6:30 pm - 7:25 pm with Dixie Mills
  • Thu Jul 20 6:30 pm - 7:25 pm with Dixie Mills
  • Thu Jul 27 6:30 pm - 7:25 pm with Dixie Mills
  • Thu Aug 03 6:30 pm - 7:25 pm with Dixie Mills
  • Thu Aug 10 6:30 pm - 7:25 pm with Dixie Mills
  • Thu Aug 17 6:30 pm - 7:25 pm with Dixie Mills
  • Thu Aug 24 6:30 pm - 7:25 pm with Dixie Mills